Dishoom, Covent Garden

Recently I headed over to Dishoom Covent Garden for a lazy Sunday lunch catch up with friends. I absolutely LOVE Indian food and Dishoom is one of my all time favourites.

I’ve been to Dishoom Covent Garden a few times (also check out their Kings Cross branch) and I’m a huge fan of their breakfasts. The chilli cheese on toast and bottomless chai is to die for and not to mention is the ultimate hangover cure (well it was back in the day, haven’t been hungover for a while with the bubba on the way!).

To avoid disappointment book if you can, although sometimes reservations aren’t possible (I think depending on how many people are in your party). If you can’t make a reservation you’ll probably have to queue for breakfast or lunch at the weekend. But it’s worth it.

Dishoom’s interior is gorgeous – I’ve never been to India (it’s on the wish list) but from what I’ve read it’s based on the style of a traditional Bombay cafe. Packed full of eclectic, beautifully styled bric-a-brac pieces, it’s impossible not to take a cheeky Instagram snap or five. The vibe and the staff are so relaxed you’re made to feel right at home and you could easily wile away the hours here, especially if you can bag yourself a booth.

I’ve never visited with children but it feels like a very family friendly environment just as much as being a great spot for a cocktail brunch with the girls (partners optional).

Menu wise it’s almost impossible to choose just one thing, luckily my friends like sharing. I always order the bottomless chai tea, it is DELICIOUS and heaven if you have a sweet tooth. For a lighter lunch I went for the paneer tikka Roomali Roti Roll (there’s a chicken option too) with a side of the zingy Dishoom slaw, so tasty. Everything’s improved with a side of slaw right? If you’re looking for inspiration below are my top ten don’t miss dishes from the menu!

My top ten don’t miss dishes

1. Bacon and egg naan roll

2. Bun maska

3. Chilli cheese toast

4. Mattar paneer

5. Dishoom slaw

6. Chicken tikka roll

7. Chicken berry Britannia

8. Black house dahl

9. Pineapple and black pepper crumble

10. Mango kulfi

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

